QR Codes & Nouns

Image

Have you utilized QR codes into your classroom yet? They are seriously so simple, but the kids think they are amazing. Not only are they simple to create on your own, you can also go to http://www.teacherspayteachers and use other teacher created lessons. All you have to do is have a device to scan with! I digress.  The picture above shows the first day I brought the iPad cart into my classroom this year. I can’t begin to tell you how excited I was. I looked forward to this day since last April when we found out that we would be getting the carts. For my first lesson using the iPads, I knew I needed to start off simple. For my sake and the kids’. You don’t get any easier than scanning QR codes. We were working on common and proper nouns. I made the students a worksheet that was numbered from 1-20. I placed a QR code at the top of the worksheet that the students had to scan for their directions. Then we separated into stations. I had twenty QR codes taped around my room. When the students scanned the QR code a noun popped up. They then had to decide if the noun was common or proper. They would write their answer in the blank on the worksheet. After 45 seconds I gave the command to rotate. They then would scan the next code.  Sure, I could have just given the kids a list of twenty nouns and let them split them into categories, but this was hands-on, engaging and interactive.  The kids loved being in control of their device. They loved scanning, and because they loved scanning….they worked incredibly hard on deciding where the noun should go. I highly suggest integrating QR codes into your classroom. Also, my favorite QR scanner is I-nigma.  It absolutely works the best….and no they didn’t pay me to say that!

Leave a Reply

