The One Device Classroom

Image

Are you the only person in your classroom with a device? No problem. You can still do amazing things. Last March when we received our iPads I really had no idea what I was going to do with this tool that they had just placed in my hands. Rafranz Davis, follow her on Twitter, suggested that I download Haiku Deck on my iPad. What a great suggestion!  Haiku Deck is a wonderful tool for any grade, any subject and any project.  It is the modern day Power Point….but way better. My very first iPad project that my students and I created last year was a Haiku Deck about colors. Every year we write color poems, and I absolutely love them. Every year my students come up with ideas that seriously blow me away. This is how the project went down. Like always, I read the students Hailstones and Halibut bones which is my favorite book about color poems. We then took out our dry erase boards and brainstormed how certain colors made us feel. Next, utilizing my iPad, reflector and the SMART board I projected Google images for everyone to see.  We collaboratively picked out our favorite images.  We opened up Haiku Deck and inserted the images in. Our next step was to write a caption on the picture. Haiku Deck is an amazing tool.  It’s easy.  It’s simple.  But, boy, does it look amazing when you are finished with it!  Maggie, my 4 year old, has even made a Deck about the letter A. Don’t let the simplicity fool you. With Haiku Deck your high school student can make a presentation that is sure to wow! Try it out. You won’t be disappointed. If you would like to see my students’ Haiku Deck on Color Poems Click the link below.

http://shar.es/ILH56

Image

Leave a Reply

