School Supplies, Convictions, & a Challenge

Be thankful in all circumstances, for

God just got in my business. All in my business. I was at Walmart buying school supplies this afternoon. It was hot and crowded, and I wanted to be home. Maggie was seriously so excited, but in the back of my mind I kept thinking, “How much is this going to cost?” I see it every year on Facebook at this time. Parents complaining about the school supply list, the amount of items on it, and the amount that it will cost. I am a teacher, and I know the items on the list are needed. They really are; however, I also have a budget. So, like many parents in America I was begrudgingly putting item after item in my basket. And then God got in my business. This is what he said, “Be glad. Be thankful that you can buy these school supplies.”

Ouch. He was right, and here are the reasons why:

1. Maggie was so excited about the school supplies. Be in the moment, Daisy. Be excited with her. They are only little for so long.

2. I can afford these supplies. Some people truly can’t.

3. I went to college in hopes to provide my kids with a good life. Right? The best thing I can give them is a love for Jesus and an education. People can say what they want about the education system in America today, but I think it is pretty darn good. Look around us. There are countries that do not have clean water or school buildings, but I have the ability to arm my children with tools to learn with. Our schools have great teachers, air conditioners, clean water, food, love, books, and so much more.

4. Some people would love to be able to buy school supplies. A parent that has lost a child. A person that was unable to have children. A single mother or father barely staying afloat. Maybe a parent that messed up early on in their child’s life and wish they could start over.

So, that’s it. My convictions for today. When I think about everything that I have I know I am absolutely blessed beyond measure. I am thankful for the ability to be able to purchase school supplies, clothing, and shoes for my two children. I also know that I can cut back somewhere else so that I am able to provide supplies for other children in my community.  My challenge to you has two parts:

1. Buy supplies for your own children with a thankful heart. Pray that these tools will help them to be successful.

2. Help someone else out, too. We have so much. Let’s give back.

Leave a Reply

