Day 8 – A Servant’s Heart

Teach them to your children, talking about them when you sit at home and when you walk along the road, when you lie down and when you get up.
Deuteronomy 11:19

Screen Shot 2017-03-08 at 5.54.29 AMThe most important calling in my life is to serve right here at home. My family. My children. My mission field. I am by no means their servant; however, I want to serve them as best as I can while I have them inside these four walls. When I use the term serve I mean teach. I mean love. I mean direct. I mean growing little humans that can stand on their own two feet without me. Little humans that will be kind to their fellow man. As they get older, especially my almost teenager, I am having to learn to let go a little more each day. That’s hard on a momma’s heart. I am having to learn that I cannot helicopter every single move they make. I can’t protect them from someone being mean. I have no control over how much playing time they get in a ball game. I am unable to take their state-mandated tests. Man, it’s tough. As mothers there is something embedded deep inside of us that makes us want to hover, to cover, and to swoop down and protect our babies. Yet, I know without a doubt that the best way to protect our kids is to pray for them. We can protect them by modeling Godly behavior in all of our actions. We can let them see us pray, study the word, love one another, and serve with a willing and happy heart. Our children need to see God’s light shining through us because it may be the only glimpse of Jesus they get all day long. We need to serve our kids by creating a solid foundation on which they can stand when we are not there to hold them up any longer. When our children hurt, we hurt. Although we can’t, and shouldn’t, fight all of their battles for them, we can arm them with a slingshot. That slingshot is God’s word. God’s truth. I love what Proverbs 22:6 says, “Train up a child in the way he should go; even when he is old he will not depart from it.” We can arm them with scripture to remind them that they are important, that they are special, that they don’t always have to have the last word, to treat others the way they want to be treated, and to know that leaning totally on God is always the solution. Momma can’t win it for them, but with God by their side they will certainly never lose. If something happens to me tomorrow my kids will remember that I wasn’t the best cook, that I always lost my keys, that I need coffee before conversation, and that I loved Jesus more than anything else. The last one – that’s where it’s at.

God, please help me to be the mom that my kids need. Help me serve them in a way that points them to you. When I am trying to do too much, remind me not to. When I am not doing enough, show me how to. Help me to be a light so that they will be a light to others as well. Help me show them Jesus. Amen.

Leave a Reply

