Day 27 – A Servant’s Heart

Whoever is kind to the poor lends to the LORD, and he will reward them for what they have done. -Proverbs 19:17

Screen Shot 2017-03-26 at 9.02.20 PMIt seems like a lifetime ago. Frank and I were fresh out of college, starting new careers, but still waiting tables to make ends meet. We had a toddler, childcare, and a month wait before we started getting paid from our new jobs. Money was clearly tight, and we were exhausted from working at our new careers during the day and waiting tables every evening. Then out of the blue, a sweet lady from our church showed up with a car full of groceries. I mean every item you could imagine: soap, detergent, milk, bread, meat, treats, even diapers. It was so unexpected, but exactly what we needed. It was a moment that someone listened to God, and in turn blessed a struggling, young family. She was on a fixed income, yet she wasn’t afraid to extend her hand to help someone else in need. She knew God had her back.

When I was a senior in high school my dad was diagnosed with cancer and was unable to work for an extended period of time. My mother worked in the high school cafeteria on the days she wasn’t taking care of my dad. I remember times throughout those months when different families throughout our small town would show up at our front door with groceries. These acts of servanthood kept us going, and I will never forget them.

God takes care of his people. God always gives us what we need. Through the acts of other people serving, we are able to speak a testimony that could change lives for many years to come. May these memories and struggles stay fresh on our mind so that when the right time comes we are able to share our story with others. May we always step out in faith when God nudges us to serve others. Even when we are broke. Even when we are tired.

God, I am so thankful for the people in my past that have reached out and blessed my family. I am thankful that they felt your nudge and acted upon it. Please help me always listen to your directions. I don’t want to be afraid to do what you need me to do. Let me be bold. Amen.

Leave a Reply

