Shame on me 

When Maverick turned 13 he was allowed to get an Instagram account. When he got his account in February he started posting a Bible verse a day. This was his idea, and I could not be more proud of him for that. 
However, I used to teach English. That means I judge grammar. I’m sorry. It’s a good/bad habit. He has been posting for five months, and I have not said anything to him about the “mistakes” in his verses until yesterday. 
He was talking about how he couldn’t spell something, and I told him he should just copy and paste his verses. I mentioned that then he wouldn’t have to worry about misspelled words etc. He looked at me and said, “But then I wouldn’t be able to memorize the verse, Mom.”
Dang. That got me right in the heart. God doesn’t care if his spelling is incorrect. He doesn’t care if his punctuation mark is in the wrong spot. He just cares that He is spreading his message. I felt about two inches tall. 
This morning I noticed a perfect verse with perfect punctuation. I asked Maverick if he copied and pasted it, which he did. I made sure to tell him that his way was so much better than what I mentioned the day before. God doesn’t want perfection. God wants your heart, and He certainly has Maverick’s. 
I’m thankful for God sending me these reminders. I’m thankful for God taking me down a notch when I need to be, which is daily. I’m proud of my baby boy’s heart, and I don’t want to hinder his growth with God. #ShameOnMe #ForReal 
“Don’t let anyone think less of you because you are young. Be an example to all believers in what you say, in the way you live, in your love, your faith, and your purity.” -1 Timothy 4:12 

Leave a Reply

